Can you walk in a straight line, toe-against-heel, while looking straight up at the stars? If not, you don’t stand a chance if you’ve had just a few drinks and it’s late at night.
Just a friendly heads-up for motorists: the Arlington County Police Department is conducting a sobriety checkpoint somewhere in the county Friday night.
Motorists driving through the checkpoint will be asked to produce their driver’s license. Drivers suspected of operating a vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol will be directed to a separate area for observation and potential testing.
The maximum penalty in Virginia for first-time DUI offenders is steep: 12 months in jail, $2,500 fine and a 12-month suspension of driving privileges. Here’s a helpful pamphlet from the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles to hopefully dissuade anyone planning to drive while impaired.